“I’ll never leave your pizza burning”

 

Fluff, But fun…

A mondegreen is the mishearing or misinterpretation of a phrase due to sounding “similar” in a way that gives it a new meaning. It most commonly is applied to a lyric in a song.

Probably the two most famous are “There’s a bathroom on the right”  (“Bad Moon Rising” by Creedence Clearwater Revival: “There’s a bad moon on the rise”) And “Scuse me while I kiss this guy” (“Purple Haze”, by Jimi Hendrix: “‘Scuse me while I kiss the sky”).

Both Creedence’s John Fogerty and Hendrix eventually capitalized on these mishearings and deliberately sang the “mondegreen” versions of their songs in concert.

Another example is When Bob Dylan offered marijuana to The Beatles, he was surprised to find they had not tried it before; he had misheard the lyric “I can’t hide” in “I Want to Hold Your Hand” as “I get high”.

And do I need to even mention “Blinded By The Light” by Manfred Mann, written by Bruce Springsteen?  Wrapped up like a….let’s not even go there.  (The actual lyric is “revved up like a deuce” for those who still don’t know).

When I was a kid I caught my best friend singing “She’s got a tick in her eye” for ‘Ticket to Ride’.  He will never ever live it down.

 

Other Kind of famous ones:

-“Hold me closer, Tony Danza.” (Real lyric: “Hold me closer, tiny dancer,” Elton John)

-“The girl with colitis goes by.” (Real lyric: “The girl with kaleidoscope eyes,” Beatles)

-“The ants are my friends, they’re blowing in the wind.” (Real lyric: “The answer my friend is blowing in the wind,” Bob Dylan.)

– “There’s a wino down the road.” (Real lyric: “And as we wind on down the road,” Led Zeppelin.)

-“In a glob of Velveeta, honey.” (Real lyric: “In-A-Gadda Da Vida,” Iron Butterfly.)

-“See that girl, watch her scream, kicking the dancing queen”. (Real Lyric: “See that girl, watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen” Abba.)

-“Let’s pee in the corner, Let’s pee in the spotlight.”  (Real lyric: “That’s me in the corner, that’s me in the spotlight”  REM)

– And who has ever known what Elton John says during his chorus of ‘Rocket Man’?  I used to love to watch people sing along with it on the radio, where they would just mumble some nonsense but never even look around to see if anyone noticed:  “Rocket Man, Burnin’ up a skreet aupe heah balone”

 

I have a friend whose nephew was really into Bob Seger for a while.  It wasn’t long ago and his parents were trying to get him into some good old fashion rock and roll.  He had his earphones on in his bedroom and was singing at the top of his lungs:

“NIGHT MOOSE”.

It just doesn’t get better than that.

 

Yeah, I KNOW you have some….

 

 

“On a dark desert highway, cool whip in my hair”

 

 

 

 

16 responses

  1. Shawn Ryan

    One of my college roommates used to think Cheap Trick were singing, “The Chief of Police, he lives inside of my head.”

    March 16, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  2. Lorraine

    My mother used to walk around our house in front of my friends singing, “Pipes in the bath drain”, (Life in the fast lane) I was mortified.

    March 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm

  3. fawnb78

    My Friend’s younger brother used to sing, “Bitchen And A Runnin” rather than “Get Your Motor Running” from the song Born To Be Wild 🙂

    March 16, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  4. fawnb78

    My friend’s younger brother always sang “Bitchen And A Runnin” rather than the correct lyrics “Get Your Motor Running” from Born To Be Wild!

    March 16, 2011 at 4:37 pm

  5. fawnb78

    “Bitchen And A Runnin” correct Lyrics “Get Your Motor Running!” Song, Born To Be Wild

    March 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  6. Mine was “Do it in the bathroom sink, Do it in the bathroom sink, you should be dancin’ yeah!” in “You should be Dancin'” whatever song by the BeeGees. Michael Jackson had a few in his squeals.

    March 16, 2011 at 4:47 pm

  7. Dave Evans

    “My letter’s been tied around me…”
    KISS- Sweet Pain (Destroyer)

    Actual- “My leathers fit tight around me..”

    Many more where this one comes from (KISS).

    And yes, Cheap Trick, rarely publishing lyrics on album sleeves created many mondegreens as well.

    March 16, 2011 at 6:16 pm

  8. Jamey

    High school basketball coach singing to himself “living in a bus, living in a bus, it’s a put-on” instead of Eminence Front – The Who.

    March 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm

  9. KG

    “Big old Jed had a light on”

    Actual: “Big old jet airliner.” – Steve Miller Band

    March 16, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  10. JOHN MANN

    My favorite is a Peter Gabriel mondegreen: “Might as well face it, you’re a d!ck with a glove!” (‘might as well face it, you’re addicted to love’)

    And for those who still don’t know, the real Elton John lyric is “burnin’ out his fuse up here alone”. I didn’t know what he said until about a year ago!

    March 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  11. Jack

    “In-A-Gadda Da Vida,” started out as “In the garden of Eden”, didn’t it?

    March 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  12. Shawn Ryan

    Sorry, but that’s not Peter Gabriel, it’s Robert Palmer who sang “Addicted to Love.”

    March 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm

  13. “Bingo Jed Had a Light On” – Steve Miller

    March 17, 2011 at 2:12 am

  14. “Lookin’ for a lover who won’t blow my brother, she’s soooo hard to find”- The Eagles

    March 17, 2011 at 2:16 am

  15. all of my childhood, i thought that the four tops were singing, “burn the dead” instead of “bernadette”

    April 4, 2011 at 1:06 am

Leave a Reply

