Pleased To Meet Me

Separated at birth.

In Folklore and fiction, a doppelgänger is a paranormal double of a living person, usually representing evil, mischief, or misfortune.  In modern times it’s used to refer to any double or look-alike of any person.

They are out there, and you may have one yourself.

Same in the world of rock and roll.  There are several.

Now this is not meant to be mean-spirited, just eerie and kind of funny.  But this whole subject came to me when I realized that several rock stars looked a whole lot like people who couldn’t be rock stars if they tried.  Or could they?

If they look so much alike, then it’s all about attitude and how you carry yourself.  There may be a lesson there….

Let’s take a look a few:

Yeah, Don Knotts and Mick Jagger.  They look alike.  But I just cannot for the life of me see Barney fronting the world’s greatest rock and roll band.  Although rumour has it Don WAS a ladies man, which is also hard to believe…

Okay, I mentioned this one to somebody and he looked at me like I was crazy.  So I’ll put a few up to prove my point:

Bono and Robin Williams could be brothers, am I right?

Okay, his is kind of mean, but I have said before Robert Plant should get a haircut….

Paul McCartney has a couple.

Paul and Angela Landsbury.  People say they look alike….Maybe a sister?

And Barack Obama’s mom looked a good bit like a young Paul:

David Crosby and Belle’s father from Beauty and the Beast.  They had to get inspiration for the cartoons from somewhere….

Jim Morrison and a young Chevy Chase.  If Jim had lived we now know what he would look like.  Sometime it’s good to go young and beautiful:

Okay, most people who had perms in the 80’s had a poodle-do going but Stevie Nicks really pushed it:

John Lennon and Harry Potter?  The older Harry gets….

Keith Richards and a Sphynx cat.  Sorry.

Know any other rock and roll doppelgängers?

6 responses

  1. JOHN MANN

    I just posted a picture on my FB page of Velma Dace Dinkley. She’s the inspiration for Justin Bieber.

    Oh, yeah, Billy Joel and me. Now, not then when he was young and had hair.

    January 5, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  2. JOHN MANN

    This may not work but I’m gonna try:

    and

    January 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm

  3. I just found out that Elton John wants Justin Timberlake to play him in the movie. I could totally see it.
    Steven Tyler looks like this old lady I used to check out at the grocery store in Minneapolis.
    Katy Perry and Zoey Daschenal resemble each other a great deal in the right light.

    January 6, 2012 at 1:37 am

  4. Jenifer Hadraba

    ok. the Keith comparison is just wrong.

    January 6, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  5. JOHN MANN

    @Dixon: (“Katy Perry and Zoey Daschenal resemble each other a great deal in the right light.”)

    In the dark they are almost identical…. ;^)

    January 7, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  6. JOHN MANN

    And, Jennifer, you’re right! The Keith comparison is totally unfair to the cat. Or dog? ??

    January 7, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

