The Seldom Scene…

Just a quick pic random piece.  Throughout my obsessive research….(yeah….research… not obsession) about all things  rock and roll I have occasionally stumbled upon pictures that are either odd or just seldom seen.  Since I find them interesting I thought you might…

So, without any rhyme or reason….here are some of those.

Paul McCartney with a rebel flag outside of his London home in St. John’s Wood in 1968.  I’m sure a fan made him hold it, and I’m sure he really didn’t know what he was doing…

Elvis.  Guns.  Oh yeah.

Iggy Pop.  I don’t know, and I don’t want to.

This is interesting.  John Lennon and Paul McCartney went on the Tonight Show to promote and announce Apple Corp.  Johnny Carson was out and the guest host was Joe Garagiola.  The baseball player.

It was a catastrophe.  Lennon and McCartney  almost didn’t go out and shouldn’t have.

Garagiola asked stupid inane questions and a seemingly drunk Tallulah Bankhead kept interrupting telling them how “beautiful” they were.

Lucky for them, there was no official video tape evidence of the show.

Niel Young.  High School.  There is hope.

Paul Stanley of Kiss.  High School.  I hope….

Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.  So there.

A definite odd one.  Yoko, John and Andy Warhol.  Hmmm.

Ron Wood.  Yeah, we all do it.  But….man.

Sept 7th 1968.  It looks like they were playing a frat party.

The Who when they were the “High Numbers”.  LOoks like they were playing at someone’s house.

Not sure if Keith Moon was in yet or not.

Obviously a habit of Paul McCartney.  Think this is subconscious…or sneaky.  My vote is sneaky.

March 1974.  The last photo ever taken of John Lennon and Paul McCartney together.  It was during Lennon’s “lost weekend”.  Also at the house in LA were Ringo, Keith Moon, Harry Nilsson, and other assorted crazies.  You gotta wonder what they were talking about.

They would get together several times after in New York City, but no photo of the two of them was taken then.

Let’s call this:  Part one….

5 responses

  1. “Obsessive research” I like that. Definitely sound much less crazy when you stick research in there. I’ll have to remember that one!
    I love the pics of Paul. Why would it go without saying that he had no idea what that rebel flag was? Maybe it’s just one of those really freaky statements that take some figuring out. After all, it doesn’t mean the same thing to everyone. Stranger things ya’ll.

    July 5, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Well, I know the rebel flag picture was one a fan shot outside of his house. They handed it to him. And he IS from the north (which is viewed like our south) in England.

      July 5, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  2. Oh, and I doubt the gesture thing meant much. He was from England not the US and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t mean the same thing there.

    July 5, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  3. C. Martinez

    I don’t know where you all from but I’m from the South and been all over the world, I don’t know (nor care to be honest) about McCartney holding a rebel flag but I never understood why someone who is not from the South USA with a Confederate flag is such a shock, when all the time I see Americans with British flags, Italian flags, and especially on college campuses Rastafarian/African liberation and Jamaican flags (mostly whites too). Remember when the Beatles were growing up nearly all the rock and roll was from the South, where it was created…Southern was the heritage of Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Roy Orbison, Buddy Holly, and while I would doubt Little Richard, Chuck Berry, and Richie Valens were Confederate flag wavers they were part of the Southern culture (I’m 1/2 Hispanic btw and proudly fly the stars and bars), yes it means different things to different people and you could make that argument for any culture, heritage, or flag. I was actually surprised the amount of Confederate flags I encountered in Europe, the most I saw was in Belfast…there’s a cultural linkage between the “Scotch-Irish” and millions of their descendants who are the majority of the South…in Europe it’s quite common for truckers to put Confederate flags on their rigs, they admire the trucking culture of the USA, I saw it all over Germany, Yugoslavia, and the Czech Rep, the one country I never saw a Confederate flag though…France.

    August 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  4. I had no idea about the flag showing up all over Europe. Am I awful if I say “cool” (yeah, I’m too old to say that but hey)
    Also gotta love someone who knows that South gets a capital S.
    You are quite right about the origin of the music, shame on you for leaving out Jerry Lee though, God I love that man.
    Keep it flying, and keep it rockin’!!
    We won’t worry about France.

    August 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

